Norway during ww2 forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Finnish soldiers in Norway 1940

4 posters

Go down

Finnish soldiers in Norway 1940 Empty Finnish soldiers in Norway 1940

Post  vsanta Mon 25 Aug 2008 - 8:40

I hope somebody could help me with this.
I'm tracing from Norway any information concerning a group of Finnish volunteers, who fought in Norway 1940 against the German invasion. I'm a Finnish journalist writing a book about the BBC:s Finnish language section (operative 1940-1997). In 1942 BBC did broadcast a report telling the story of 25 Finnish soldiers who came to Oslo in 1940 with their Norwegian friends who had been volunteers in the Finnish Winter War 1939-40. BBC told that those 25 Finns wanted to help their Norwegian friends and stayed in Norway to fight the Germans, starting near Hamar with the Norwegian forces who helped the King to escape later by sea to Britain. Good propaganda from the British viewpoint by that time but was it true? Have you heard anything about this? Which would be the right place in Norway to go and find any documented information related to this story? Possible the names of the Finnish soldiers as BBC did not mention the names in 1942.

A special bonus for me would be to find any Norwegian who knew any of those Finns personally.

The BBC story from 1942 mentions places like Kongsvinger and Hamar, and after that Elverum, via Österdalen to Trysil. They stayed in Norway until June 1940, BBC story says.

from Internet I have found this:
http://hem.fyristorg.com/robertm/norge/history_section.html